top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaith MacWana

Work Hard


Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies.

I cannot believe how quickly time is flying. We’re wrapping up week 7 which means we have 9 weeks left til classes end. It’s easy to quickly fall into the mindset of “Oh I’m abroad which means vacation which means no responsibilities.” At first I fell into this mindset because of the way the semester and classes are structured here. I am used to planning my courses out way in advance and hitting the ground running.


That wasn't the case when I started my studies here. The beginning of the semester was August 30th. However, no classes were held that day and instead, students were registering for classes and attending events. I had the pleasure of attending the Open Ceremony which was very neat. It took place outside the main building of the University of Tartu. The mayor of Tartu spoke and there was live music. You felt a sort of pride being a part of something like that. It felt prestigious to an extent. I also got to hang out with UT’s mascot, Tiksu. The week still felt like summer vacation to me because out of 5 classes, I only had 2 that started during Week 1. Week 2 was when I officially started all my classes.


I’m currently enrolled in 30 ECTS, which may sound like a lot, but in terms of US credits it’s only 15. Back at Virginia Wesleyan, I was used to taking 18 or 19 credits per semester. I know, I’m a little unhinged. (Kidding, kidding.) My classes are Introduction to European Union, the Essentials of Biopolitics, Ring-Wing Movements & Populism, U.S. Foreign Policy and European Union: Current Affairs. Interestingly enough, all my classes meet once a week except for EU: Current Affairs. I have that class biweekly on Fridays. The really nice thing is that all my classes are in the afternoon so I can sleep in which is amazing considering I am not a morning person at all.


The lectures are all in English and it doesn’t feel much different than a typical semester back at home. I will say that the workload, however, is different. I’m used to having assignments due weekly and readings due every class meeting. Sometimes that meant readings due three times a week. While I still have weekly readings, I have more time to complete them and take notes since we only meet once a week. The assignments are also very light. Most of my classes I only have 3 to 4, sometimes 2, assignments due at various points of the semester.


Totally not a staged photo at all

While I find this incredible, the percentages of these assignments are worth more of your final grade. For example, in Essentials of Biopolitics, I only have two assignments. A group project worth 50% of my final grade and an individual research paper that makes up the other 50%. It stresses me out a little because I am a bit of a perfectionist and there aren’t any assignments that could act like a buffer for your grades.


Regardless, I’m really enjoying my studies here. Some of my classes are about the size of a typical class at Wesleyan, roughly about 15 students while others are larger (comparatively speaking), roughly about 50 students. My favorite class is European Union: Current Affairs. It’s actually being co-taught by the fourth former President of Estonia, Toomas Hendrik Ilves. That wouldn’t be possible in the States, in my opinion, so I’m incredibly blessed to have this opportunity.


Outside the Skytte Institute with President Ilves

Back at my home university, I was insanely busy. I had to balance two on campus jobs, sorority commitments, classes, and working for the newspaper plus everyday things like laundry, cooking, and cleaning. Maybe get some sleep in there somewhere. Finally in whatever free time I had, I managed to squeeze in a little bit of a social life. But the way that my schedule is like here, I have time to enjoy the little things more. I can go for a stroll before class, have time for a proper breakfast, or spend a few minutes journaling for myself before starting my day. Work/life balance is very precise and evident here. It’s honestly quite refreshing. However, since I do have a lot more free-time, I’ve been keeping busy exploring. What exactly does that mean? Well, that’s a story for another time.

20 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page